In 1887, brothers Herbert and William Austin Wadsworth engaged the service of local contractor Andrew Willard to begin excavation at the junction on Main and Center Streets in preparation for the installation of a fountain as a memorial to their mother, Emmeline.
The need for a building of this type had been evident for some time and in 1906 the town appropriated $8,000 and the village $20,000 toward the project. The building was completed in March of 1908 and the doors opened to the public in April for the Wadsworth Hose Fair.
Geneseo's railway station once located at the foot of Court Street was built in 1875 to replace an old one just to the south, which became a warehouse. Privately owned, this Depot with a waiting room heated by a pot-bellied stove, a baggage room and a ticket office, was cozy and friendly and served the community well for many years.
Originally built in about 1832-33 as a residence for Mr. and Mrs. Allen Ayrault, this house was purchased by James W. Wadsworth in 1885 and has a rich history.