The APOG exists to preserve, improve, and restore the places of civic, architectural, and historic interest to Geneseo and to educate members of the community about their architectural and historical heritage.
In 1887, brothers Herbert and William Austin Wadsworth engaged the service of local contractor Andrew Willard to begin excavation at the junction on Main and Center Streets in preparation for the installation of a fountain as a memorial to their mother, Emmeline.
The need for a building of this type had been evident for some time and in 1906 the town appropriated $8,000 and the village $20,000 toward the project. The building was completed in March of 1908 and the doors opened to the public in April for the Wadsworth Hose Fair.
Originally built in about 1832-33 as a residence for Mr. and Mrs. Allen Ayrault, this house was purchased by James W. Wadsworth in 1885 and has a rich history.